“The Legend of Zelda” and “Sonic” Join World Video Game Hall of Fame

“The Legend of Zelda” and “Sonic” Join World Video Game Hall of Fame

Six games make the final cut for the class of 2016


The Strong National Museum of Play in Rochester, NY held a ceremony yesterday to welcome six games into the World Video Game Hall of Fame. The class of 2016 features selections by a committee of journalists, scholars, and video game industry members, and choices are based on iconic status, longevity, geographical reach, and influence.

Following up on the Super Mario Bros. induction last year, Nintendo’s classic The Legend of Zelda is officially in the Hall of Fame for 2016. Zelda joins five other games: Grand Theft Auto III, The Sims,Space Invaders, The Oregon Trail, and Sonic the Hedgehog.

You can see the full list of 2016 finalists on the museum’s website.


Joseph Luster is the Games and Web editor at Otaku USA Magazine. You can read his webcomic, BIG DUMB FIGHTING IDIOTS, every week at subhumanzoids. Follow him on Twitter @Moldilox.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s